h1

Consider the blessings (Part 2)

January 29, 2013
Today my husband and I read Alma 26. I don’t think this was an accident considering my scripture study yesterday. In this chapter, Ammon is glorying in the Lord. Basically, he’s expressing intense joy for the blessings that he and his brethren have received through their journeys to the Lamanites, the wicked unbelievers. He explains how many people “laughed [them] to scorn” (v. 23) before their journey because they just knew that it was going to be impossible to change the Lamanites’ hearts, to help them come unto Christ and repent of their terrible iniquities (see v. 24). In fact, those who mocked Ammon wanted to “take up arms against [the Lamanites]” to “destroy them and their iniquity” because they were afraid that the Lamanites would destroy them (v. 25).
But Ammon and his brethren saw in the Lamanites divine potential and they hoped that they “might save some few of their souls” (v. 26). And it was hard. It was discouraging to go among the Lamanites trying to share the great joy of Christ. But “the Lord comforted [them], and said: Go amongst thy brethren, the Lamanites, and bear with patience thine afflictions, and I will give you success” (v. 27).
And guess what happens? They were blessed with success. Ammon goes on and on about the great blessing that he and his brethren received. And what exactly was that blessing?
In answer to the question Ammon explains: “Behold, I answer for you; for our brethren, the Lamanites, were in darkness, yea, even in the darkest abyss, but behold, how amany of them are brought to behold the marvelous light of God! And this is the blessing which hath been bestowed upon us, that we have been made binstruments in the hands of God to bring about this great work” (v. 3)
The great blessing that prompts all of Ammon’s glorying is simple and profound–that he was allowed to be an instrument in God’s hand in helping someone else. And because of that he experienced great joy, so great he cannot contain it.
This is what President Monson was talking about in “Consider the Blessings”, the blessing that it is to be an instrument in God’s hand in doing his work.
We also read about this in Doctrine & Covenants 18:15-16 where the Lord declares:
And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father! And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!
I believe that this gospel principle is true. I have experienced it myself as I have had sweet opportunities to share the joy of Christ with others. And I believe that it is possible for people to change and to come unto Christ, even in our wicked world. I believe that as we bear our persecutions and afflictions with patience, we will be blessed to be instruments in the Lord’s hands, and that that is the greatest blessing we can ever receive. I pray that I will be able to spend my days in the service of God and that I can help others come unto Christ, for I truly believe His message and His love.

One comment

  1. I love it!



Leave a comment